Sunday Inspirations

Usually I don’t post much on Sundays, just because of church and trying to spend the day with my family (usually napping!) and not being on the computer that much.  But I thought maybe each Saturday I could schedule a post for Sundays that incudes some inspiration for you.  This may be in the form of a favorite verse or a scripture that has been speaking to me lately or it might be a (recent) favorite song that I have heard or an uplifting story.  Something along those lines, something that will encourage you, lift you, make you smile, basicall lighten your spirit and help you through the week!

July 31, 2011 (can’t believe that today is the last day of July! wow time is flying by)

In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.
John 16:33

When we were little and would attend church, which actually wasn’t very often for me or my brothers, I can remember that we sang this song quite often:

He’s got the whole world in His hands,
He’s got the whole world in His hands,
He’s got the whole world in His hands,
He’s got the whole world in His hands.

And then of course you have the next four verses: you and me, the sun and rain, the rivers and mountains, and everybody.  The song was teaching us then, even as little children, about the sovereignty of God although we had no clue what that was.  And I am sure that as adults some (ok a lot) of us still can’t quite wrap our minds around God’s sovereignty, that He (and He alone) is in control of ALL THINGS!  It is hard for us to understand and at times accept.  I know that I still struggle with realizing that my life is in God’s control and not my own.  I want control, I want my own way and I want to be in charge of everything related to me.  The only problem with that is, I usually end up messing it all up.  And usually just when I am getting comfortable and thinking “I got this” something comes along and reminds that I have not got this and never will.

Recently I ahve been listening to a great song that I have fallen in love with.  And it reminds me of the fact that God is in control, always!  It is by 33 Miles and is called “Arms That Hold the Universe.”  Isn’t that a great title?  In some ways, it says it all.  Here is a video of the song sung by 33 Miles, take a listen!

And here are the lyrics to the chorus, that is one of my favorite parts of the song:

And the arms that hold the universe
Are holding you tonight
You can rest inside
It’s gonna be alright
And the voice that calmed the raging sea
Is calling you His child
So be still and know He’s in control
He will never let you go

No matter what is going on in your life, the arms that hold the universe (God) are holding you!  You mean so much to him, enough so that He sent His only son to die for you.  As I have dealt with some things these past couple of weeks and some things that I was hoping for not come through, I have realized that no matter what I am going through, He is holding me and I can rest in Him!  And I don’t know about you but I think that is the safest and best place to be~ in Him!  So I will be still, know He’s in control and know that His plan is so much better than anything that I can think or dream of for myself and my family!

One thought on “Sunday Inspirations

  1. You said the words that I needed to hear and be reminded of…I AM NOT IN CONTROL! Have a great Sunday…Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

