life

Custom Football Team Shirt

It is Football Season! For most people, football season is a huge deal.  I like football and am excited when the season rolls around but I am not a die-hard football fan.  Unlike my husband I won’t go to the game if it is going to be freezing or there is a good chance of rain.  I like to watch the game, but I want to stay warm and dry thank you very much!  So since it has been nice for one game and nasty for another, I am 1 for 1 (acutally 1 for 2 because one was an away game and I didn’t go) so far this season!  But there is one other person we have to take into consideration when it comes to going to football games. Well 2 really, but Sarai doesn’t like to go so she usually stays home.  However, Micah loves to go (I think it is the nachos really) but I am never sure how he will do.

Well, anyways I wanted to get him a shirt in support of the team to wear to the games.  But I really didn’t want to pay a lot for the shirt since we really don’t plan to be in the area much longer (of course we have been saying that for about 2 years now!).  So I went to Wal-Mart and while they had all kinds of shirts for big girls and boys in support of the Tigers, there was nothing in Micah’s size.  So I thought, I can make him one! Sure why not.  I mean I know I could have went to the local t-shirt printer and gotten one, but I am not sure how much it would have cost and I didn’t want to spend a lot.  So I bought this black long sleeved shirt (I should have went a size smaller since it was pretty big on him). And then I went and bought a brown placemat and a bright orange wash cloth. Yep, a placemat and a wash cloth!

Then I went to the local craft store, Ben Franklins, and got the Heat N Bond and some embroidery floss.  You could probably get everything you needed at Wal-Mart but our local Wal-Mart no longer carries fabric or sewing items.

Then I printed out my football image and saying on my computer.  Held them up to the front door and traced them onto the wrong side of the Heat N Bond.  Then I loosely cut around them and ironed them to the back on the fabrics.  These pictures show the pieces after I had cut around them more closely.

Here are the pieces cut out completely.

Then I placed all the pieces onto the shirt to get the placement where I wanted to.  And then I ironed them all down.  I had to keep the iron on the pieces longer than suggested, a lot longer.  I am guessing that is because of the thickness of the fabrics.

Then I added the details to the football.  And on the back of the shirt, I put the word Go in the orange letters.

Not sure if you can notice it in the picture or not, I can’t really.  Nut in case you can and are wondering, I wanted to stitch on the letters so that they stay longer and are ok in the wash.  But I don’t have a sewing machine and to do all of them by hand is a lot of work.  But I started it on the Go and did stitches that kind of look like tiger stripes (in my mind anyways!).  So that is maybe why the Go looks a little different.  I do plan to go back and do the other letters as well, but my hand was hurting from all the sewing that I had already done.  Seriously, the hardest part was the x’s on the shoulders and that was because I had no way to make sure they were all the same size and place them evenly.  So they are a little crooked and vary in size.

In the end it probably took me close to 2 hours, start to finish.  But like I said I don’t have a sewing machine (well I do but it is packed away!) and I did have to stop every now and then to allow my hand to rest and check on the monkey I was making it for.  And it was so worth it to see him like this! And I think it turned out pretty cute!  Especially considering I spent under $10 and have a totally custom shirt!

(Excuse his dirty face, he had pudding and I didn’t wash his face before his modeling gig!)

I am linking up to Moody Girl’s  Projects Before and After linky! Go check out some of the other amazing before and afters!

Also linking this one up to Made By You Monday over at Skip To My Lou! Go check out some of the other great projects!

Leave a Reply

