cupcake tuesday · josh · life

Snickerdoodle Cupcakes

Ok, when i came across this recipe I just knew that I had to add it to my collection and make them! My husband, Josh, loves snickerdoodle cookies; they are his favorite so I was hoping that this recipe would be a hit with him.

I will be the first to admit that I love to bake, but I am more of a Semi-Homemade Girl (love, love, love Sandra Lee!!). If it comes in a box I can make it.  So I was a little bit worried that this would be a journey to disaster for me.  But I was determined to make these yummy looking cupcakes.  And I have the perfect test group (other than my family), my Monday Ladies Bible Study! They are pretty good sports and so nice in their compliments!  So here is the recipe:

Snickerdoodle Cupcakes

Makes 28

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups cake flour (not self- rising), sifted
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon, plus 1/2 teaspoon for dusting
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar, plus 2 tablespoons for dusting
  • 4 large eggs, room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups milk
  • Seven-Minute Frosting
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line standard muffin tins with paper liners. Sift together both flours, baking powder, salt, and 1 tablespoon cinnamon.
  2. With an electric mixer on medium-high speed, cream butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating until each is incorporated, scraping down sides of bowl as needed. Beat in vanilla. Reduce speed to low. Add flour mixture in three batches, alternating with two additions of milk, and beating until combined after each.
  3. Divide batter evenly among lined cups, filling each three-quarters full. Bake, rotating tins halfway through, until a cake tester inserted in centers comes out clean, about 20 minutes. Transfer tins to wire racks to cool completely before removing cupcakes. Cupcakes can be stored up to 2 days at room temperature, or frozen up to 2 months, in airtight containers.
  4. To finish, combine remaining 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 2 tablespoons sugar. Using a pastry bag fitted with a large plain tip (Ateco No. 809 or Wilton No. 1A), pipe frosting on each cupcake: Hold bag over cupcake with tip just above top, and squeeze to create a dome of frosting, then release pressure and pull up to form a peak. Using a small, fine sieve, dust peaks with cinnamon-sugar. Cupcakes are best eaten the day they are frosted; keep at room temperature until ready to serve.

    There is the recipe.  I did not follow the recipe exactly.  In regards to the flour, I could only find my all-purpose flour so I used a total of 3 cups all purpose flour.  I have since not only found the Cake Flour I knew was in the house but I have also learned how to make my all-purpose flour into cake flour.  Will keep that in mind for the future.  I am not sure what it did to the cupcakes since this is the first time I have ever made them. But if I had to guess I would say that mine were probably more dense than what they would have been if I had used cake flour.  But they were still good.  And they smelled just like the cookies do when they were cooking.

    The other change I made was I did not use the Seven Minute Frosting that was suggested with the recipe.  Instead I went for a classic Buttercream Frosting.  The recipe called for powdered sugar, butter, vanilla and milk/cream.  I also added in some cinnamon but don’t ask me how much because I didn’t measure it!  I think I added too much milk, thinning the icing too much.  It just seemed so thick to me and then by the time I stopped adding the milk and spooned it into my pastry bag it was really soft.  So I stuck the pastry bag into the fridge to firm it up some.  Well that didn’t work like I had planned because it was too hard to pipe and it started to seperate.  So I had to empty my bag and rebeat it.  Then reload it and pipe! I ended up sticking them in the fridge after frosting them because I was afraid the frosting would continue to soften and fall off!

    My pictures aren’t the best, sorry about that.  I love the way that you can see the cinnamon flecks in the cupcake itself.  And the icing is very light and fluffy; maybe a little too sweet for me.  But I thought it complimented the cupcake very nicely.  And the best comment of all (from my facebook page!)–

    Joshua Monda man those cupcakes are delicious the frosting was very fluffy too I loved them

    I am linking to this post on Hoosier Homemade, head on over there and see all the yummy cupcake recipes posted!

    Cupcake Tuesday at HoosierHomemade.com

2 thoughts on “Snickerdoodle Cupcakes

  1. ooh. Couldn’t help but notice this recipe! I have some Snickerdoodle lovers in my family too! I think I might just have to try this as a special treat 🙂 Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

