Grandpa Wayne

On the second day of our PA trip, we got up and ate breakfast at the hotel. This is another reason we love staying at Drury Inns– FREE, HOT, YUMMY breakfast!  I mean they give you biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, huge waffles, sausage patties, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, pastries, and I am sure I am missing something.  Anyways, it is so yummy and great when you are trying to travel on a budget!

So we packed the room and hoped in the car, preparing for about an 8 hour drive to Erie Pa to visit with my dad.  This would be the first time we would see him since Christmast 2002! Wow, 8 years had passes. Which is kind of sad seeing how we only lived about 8 hours from him for 9 years and then when we live about 12 hours from him, we visit!  This would be only the second time that Sarai had met him and the first time Micah would be meeting Grandpa Wayne ever! I couldn’t wait and at the same time I was a little anxious.  See, my dad has a tendency to cuss and drink and smoke, A LOT! And I was a little worried how this would all play out with the kids since they are not typically around actions like that.  But it all went well and there were no major problems!

We got there a little before dinner time, unloaded the car and visited for a little bit.  Then dad said he needed to go to the grocery store, so we all loaded back up in our car and headed to the store to get stuff for dinner! Dad fixed pork ribs, pork loin and potatoes on the grill and it was delicious! We didn’t eat until a little later than normal, but the wait was so worth the food.

Micah and Sarai had a blast playing at Papa Waynes and loved all the little ride-on toys he had.  And Papa Wayne loved spoiling them, finding all kinds of things in the house for them to have– marbles, flashlights, old Navy uniform hats, etc! I think all three of them loved it so much!

Of course, when it was time to come in for the night Micah wasn’t satisfied with leaving the toys outside.  So instead of mommy prevailing, Papa let Micah bring in one of the toys to ride on.  He loved it of course and I think Papa had just as much fun!

The next morning before we left I had to get some pictures of all of us together.  But wouldn’t you know it, Micah would not cooperate unless I was sitting with him.  So here is what we got!

We left dad’s and proceeded on with our trip to Birdsboro to the Taksers house.  About 30 minutes after we left dads we stopped at a WalMart to get a couple of things and I realized that I didn’t have my clutch.  So we pratically emptied the car searching for it and then called my dad to see if I had left it there.  Unfortunately it was not in the car or at my dads house.  So then Josh called the hotel to see if it was left there, but all he could get was the Housekeeping Departments voice mail.  So we sat and speculated and worried about where it was actually at for several hours.  After calling the hotel and only getting the voice mail account twice, I decided to go ahead and call the bank to see what my options were.  I also wanted to make sure that by canceling my card that it would not effect Josh’s card since we were about 14 hours from home!  So after getting off with the bank and being advised not to wait too much longer to cancel the card, I decided to call the hotel back.  I told the desk person that I really needed to speak to a live person and I had already called 3 previous times and been transfered to voice mail.  So I waited on hold for about 15 minutes and finally the lady came on the phone and I explained the situation.  She put me on hold again and went to see what she could find.  When she came back on the line, she said that my clutch was there and they would hold it for me since we would be staying there on our return trip.  I was so thankful that it was found in the room and that I had not knocked it out of the car at a gas station somewhere!

Tomorrow– the Taksers, old friends and Alex’s graduation!

Leave a Reply

