life

Future Plans

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.  ~Jeremiah 29:11-13

It is so easy to quote this verse to someone when something they were hoping and praying for doesn’t work out.  I can’t really begin to count the number of times I have had it said to me or have even quoted it to myself.  A lot of those times were in reference to the infertility and pregnancy loss that my husband and I have dealt with for most of our marriage.  But it is one of my favorite verses to turn to myself when I am facing something that feels like a huge disappointment.  It is a great verse to meditate on and really study and then of course apply to your life.  In the midst of the pain and disaapointment it is not always easy to see the truth in the verse.

I KNOW that the verse is TRUE and I BELIEVE with all my heart that God is FAITHFUL (even when we are not) and He DOES have a plan for me and a future that is the best for me.  But that does not mean that I am not going to experience the emotions that go along with the loss of something we are hoping and praying for.  It hurts when we lose something we want and something that we felt God is directing us to.

I don’t think it is wrong or a sin to be upset, disappointed or saddened by the loss of a dream or future that you see for yourself.  The sin comes in what you do next.  Do you turn away from your faith in Christ, let anger or diappointment take root deep inside and let it make you a bitter person.  Or do you pour out those emotions to God and let Him take them and use them for His glory and honor?  The first part of that verse is so important but the end is just as important and maybe even more so!  God knows the plans that He has for us; we just need to call to him, pray and seek Him!  And then He will reveal those plans to us.  And they might not be our plans, but if we accept and embrace them they will be the best plans for us! Because when we seek God with all our heart, our heart becomes His heart and we will only want the things that God wants– for ourselves, our family, our friends, and the lost!

I love music and am really drawn to songs that have a deeper meaning to me.  So in closing, I want to leave you with two songs that really speak to me no matter what the situation or what I feel or think.

I am not skilled to understand
What God has willed, what God has planned
I only know at His right hand
Stands one who is my Savior

I take Him at His word and deed
Christ died to save me; this I read
And in my heart I find a need
Of Him to be my savior

That He would leave His place on high
And come for sinful man to die
You count it strange, so once did I
Before I knew my Savior

Chorus (2x’s)
My Savior loves, My Savior lives
My Savior’s always there for me
My God: He was, my God; He is
My God is always gonna be

Yes, living, dying, let me bring
My strength, my solace from this spring;
That He who lives to be my King
Once died to be my Savior

That He would leave His place on high
And come for sinful man to die
You count it strange, so once did I
Before I knew my Savior

And one of my all-time favorite songs; it has gotten me through a lot of situations (or a lot of the same situation!) and really speaks to me.

I was sure by now, God, that You would have reached down
and wiped our tears away,
stepped in and saved the day.
But once again, I say amen
and it’s still raining
as the thunder rolls
I barely hear You whisper through the rain,
“I’m with you”
and as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise
the God who gives and takes away.

Chorus:
And I’ll praise you in this storm
and I will lift my hands
for You are who You are
no matter where I am
and every tear I’ve cried
You hold in your hand
You never left my side
and though my heart is torn
I will praise You in this storm

I remember when I stumbled in the wind
You heard my cry to You
and raised me up again
my strength is almost gone how can I carry on
if I can’t find You
and as the thunder rolls
I barely hear You whisper through the rain
“I’m with you”
and as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise
the God who gives and takes away

Chorus

I lift my eyes onto the hills
where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord, the maker of heaven and earth
I lift my eyes onto the hills
where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord, the maker of heaven and earth

The hope and the future that the Lord has given to me!
I love you Josh Monda!
And my two miracles, Sarai and Micah!

One thought on “Future Plans

  1. Good writing. I appreciate the you sharing these thoughts, and sharing the verse and how God is working in your life.

Leave a Reply

