Brokenness

On Sunday evenings at our church we have discipleship classes.  Most of them are a book study, some focus on financces or marriage.  This quarter I signed up to take part in the Brokenness class.  For the class we are using the book Brokenness by Nancy DeMoss.  To be quite honest, I only signed up for the class because I didn’t want to take any of the others.  Well, I did want to take one but with my husband previously helping with the youth group on Sunday nights and now taking on the Children’s ministry duties I felt that it was not beneficial to take the marriage class.  I personally feel that a husband and wife should take it together if at all possible (unless one spouse is a non-believer or unchurched). And as my husband has not had any full-time or steady employment in the past year and a half, I figured it was needless to take the Crown Financial class.  Not much you can do with your finances when the bank account is typically below $100!

So here I am, in a class on brokenness.  Not saying that I don’t need it; just saying that I am not sure I want it.  We have already had 3 weeks of classes and there are a few things I really want to share.  But not sure yet (this also speaks to something that I have already learned/relearned from the class, but more on that later).  So for now I want to leave you with this:

Let me find thy light in my darkness,
thy life in my death,
thy joy in my sorrow,
thy grace in my sin,
thy riches in my poverty,
they glory in my valley.
~from The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers and Devotions

It spoke to me.  How many times have I been in sorrow but not seen the joy of Christ? Or been in a valley and not seen God’s glory?  And how much more do I need to die to myself so that Christ may give me His life?

This has been my prayer for the past 2 weeks:

Pass me not, O gentle Savior,
Hear my humble cry,
While on others Thou art calling,
Do not pass my by.

Is that your prayer? I hope that you will make it yours. More to come!

Leave a Reply

