life

What Encourages Me?

Today a new site is opening up and I am really looking forward to checking it out!  It is called (in)courage! I love their little tag line. Take hope to heart! Although it is few in words it is great in thought!

So what encourages me? A lot of things really; my husband, my children, my relatives, my friends, my church.  I could probably add another 10 things to the list or get real specific and take up an entire blog post naming people.  But instead I am just going to pick something that has been encouraging me lately. I will try to keep it concise, but I give you fair warning, it may get long and ramblely!

As most of my blog readers know, my husband resigned from his position as Associate Pastor of Youth Ministry in April 2008.  The years (for me) leading up to this moments were at times filled with a lot of disappointment, resentment, bitterness, frustration. Don’t get me wrong, the entire 9 years we were at this church were not all bad. In fact, for me it was probably just the first year and then the last two years that were rough. And the last 2 years were the toughest I have ever dealt with.  I don’t really count the first year as bad since I was newly pregnant and had just moved 1100 miles from my mom so I think it was expected that I would need an adjustment period, but I digress.

Back on track. The last two years living in Pennsylvania were very hard on me.  My husband and I were not communicating well and pretty much were just roommates living together.  Sure we did things as a family but there was a lot of tension between us.  And unfortunately, those around us in our ministry and at our church got to see a lot of it, especially on my part.  Add into that the fact that I was pregnant, having minor complications and was in and out of the hospital and it makes for a very bad situation.  During our time in Pennsylvania, I don’t think that my husband or I were encouraged a lot and that seems sad to me looking back.  I did have a best friend who was there for me a lot! I so appreciated her and her love for me.  But it is sad to say that my husband did not have that.  Not sure if it was because he was a pastor and people felt he didn’t need that or if it was that his peers were perhaps a little intimidated because he was a pastor.

This past year, while it has been hard with our living arrangements and my husband still looking for a position, I have been learning SO MUCH!  My pastor is an amazing and godly man who preaches the word of God every Sunday morning! Sitting under him this past year has been so great for me personally.  Although I probably shouldn’t, I will truthfully admit that there were times in the past that I dreaded going to church and wished that I didn’t have to!  I can honestly say though that in the past year that we have been attending Macon FBC I have enjoyed my time in worship on Sunday mornings, my small group is great and so open and loving, and I look froward to Wednesday nights during the school year so that I can spend time fellowshipping with other moms!  There is so much that God has been teaching me and showing, but that will have to wait until another post.

So if you have read this far you may be asking yourself, “so what encourages you?”  It is my church, my pastor, and my friends in general but more specifically the Word of God!  Macon FBC is a church that is not only preaching the Word but are striving to live and practice the Word!  I am so grateful and appreciative of this body of believers who lovingly accepted me and my family into their lives.  It has been an amazing place to come and recharge and quite frankly heal.  I have made friends here that I am hoping will be carried with me for a lifetime!  The group of ladies that call me their friend are an amazing group and I love them so much!  I am so thankful for each and every one of them that God has placed in my life during this season.

that their hearts may be encouraged, being knit together in love, and attaining to all riches of the full assurance of understanding, to the knowledge of the mystery of God, both of the Father and of Christ,  in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.
Colossians 2:2-3

So head on over to (in)courage and see what is encouraging others!

Leave a Reply

