(in)courage · church · family · josh · life

What Encourages Me? (Take 2)

**if you were here earlier you  might have read a different post. it is private now. sorry for that. this is the one you were supposed to get!**

Today a new site is opening up and I am really looking forward to checking it out!  It is called (in)courage! I love their little tag line. Take hope to heart!Although it is few in words it is great in thought!

So what encourages me? A lot of things really; my husband, my children, my relatives, my friends, my church.  I could probably add another 10 things to the list or get real specific and take up an entire blog post naming people.  But instead I am just going to pick something that has been encouraging me lately. I will try to keep it concise, but I give you fair warning, it may get long and ramblely!

It is safe to say that I am an encourager.  I am the one among my friends and family that typically remembers all the birthdays and special days in a persons life.  I am the one that sends out cards for those occassions or just because.  I am the one that does little gifts for no reason at all.  I don’t say this being prideful or so that you say wow about me.  I say this because I feel that God has blessed me with an incredible gift and it is only right that I in return use it for Him and His glory.  I love encouraging people, sending them cards, giving them little gifts and doing things that will just brighten their day.  You never know what someone is truly going through and what it will mean to them.  I also find that regardless of my mood or state of mind when I sit down to do my cards/gifts/etc, when i am done I am in a much better place.  It encourages me to encourage others.

Having said all this, I want to point out that encourages are often not encouraged!  Or it is far and few between the times that they are.  So if you have someone in your life that is always seeming to remember the little things or is good at sending you a note every so often, don’t foget to return the favor.  Yeah, they might not expect it (or even want it) but it will make them smile and feel good.  And it may just keep them encouraging others.  Of course you don’t have to do it every day or every week, just every know and then would be good.

This past year as been a little hard for my family.  A little over a year ago, we had a lot take place in a few months time; one of those being that my husband resigned from his Youth Minister position that he had had for 9 years!  Within a month of that resignation, I had our son and we then moved our family 1100 miles!  We have also lived with my mother-in-law for 14 months!  While it has been trying at times, for the most part it has went very smoothly.  The hardest part is my husband not having a job.

It is not that he has not applied at churches,nor its it that he has not been offered several positions. It is just that the Lord has not made us feel and know that those churches are where He wants us.  Josh has done some different things to have income come in, like pulpit supply and substitute teaching. But it has been a challenge not having a steady income. Not to mention my own home and our own schedule.

The thing that has most encourage me over this last year is two-fold.  The first part being my husband.  His resolve, determination, and faith this past year as spoken to me immensly!  This past Sunday he preached at a small church about an hour away from us and his message was titled God is in Control.  It was about the sovereignty of God and what it means to truly believe that God is sovereign.  Not only did the message speak to me, but the fact that I can look at my husbands life, not only this past year, and see that he truly believes it and lives it. Don’t get me wrong, there are times when he gets discouraged but it doesn’t last long and he always looks back to God for the truth and His guidance.

The second part has been the Word of God.  Not only through my own husband’s preaching but through my pastor.  I have so enjoyed going to church and listening to Pastor Tim deliver God’s message to us each week.  I have learned so much in the last year and I am so grateful to Pastor Tim.  Also in my quiet time with the Lord he has been speaking to me and helping me see where I need to grow more and areas that need to be worked on so that when the time comes I can be the best Pastor’s wife and mom that I can be.

This past year, while tough in some ways, has been so instrumental for me in my growth as a person, as a pastor’s wife, and as a follower of Christ.  It has also been instrumental in my healing.

So what encourages you?  Head on over to (in)courage and take a look around! Hope to see you there!

3 thoughts on “What Encourages Me? (Take 2)

  1. I hear so many stories of trying times right now and I too have my own. But I pray that I could (in)courage you today. I believe I am an encourager and I can thank the Lord for that. I’m so grateful that we have the freedom to read our Bibles in this country. Many places in the world still don’t have that freedom. And oh, how His Word encourages me.

    As I’m typing this message on my computer, I glanced down and saw a typed verse I have in front of me. I’d like to share it with you:
    Isaiah 41:10 “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

    Blessings to you,
    Debbie

  2. How beautiful that you see God has blessed you with an incredible gift and that you use it for Him and His glory!! It always seems to be a time of growth during the tough times. So happy for you that you have been encouraged! Thank you for joining us on (in)courage!

  3. What a great reminder that encouragers need to be encouraged too. You are right…we so often forget. And knowing you are an encourager even in the midst of a discouraging situation makes your words mean even more. Thank you for sharing your heart and journey with us. You are making a difference and I’m praying God will make a way for you and your family…

Leave a Reply

