family · josh · life · pain

Favor and Blessing

One of the blogs that I have recently started reading on a regular basis is titled Confessions of a Pastors Wife. It is a great blog and there have been some of Lori’s posts that have caused me to stop and think, to reevaluate things, and sometimes just say wow! I have really enjoyed it.  On one of her recent posts, she said the following and it really hit home with me considering the recent changes in circumstance that Josh and I have been going through.

Well favour and blessing takes on different forms than we anticipate. We thought it would look like what we wanted when we wanted it but it has come in the form of character building, trust, and surrendering control. Some may argue whether that is really the favour of the Lord but I am sure that it is. When God builds character in us through our circumstances that is His grace on our lives, teaching us and equipping us for exactly what we need to accomplish His purposes. 

The first two sentences in the quote really struck me. The paragraph as a whole really struck me.  Just because something is not what we thought it should look like or feel like does not mean it is not from God or that His hand isn’t on us.  I have always known this and I have always tried to put this into evidence in my life.  

I believe in a sovereign God; one who has a plan for my life and regardless of the route that plan takes is in complete control and is always by my side.  Sure there are times when I don’t like the route the plan is taking or I hit bumps in the road that I wish I never had encountered but who am I to question my Lord.  I can sit and think back through the times that I have encountered hardship and trials in my life since becoming a believer (and even before) and see God’s hand and leading.  I know that He is firmly in control.  And I can honestly look back and say that there is not one thing in my life that I would change.  Mainly because those times have drawn me closer to my Savior and allowed me to have a sweet fellowship with Him.

Yes it is hard sometimes to see that God is in control when we are in the shadows and the valley.  But if we truly have a faith that is grounded in Him, we can hang on to the truth that He is on the throne and in control and we will make it through.  Over the next couple of weeks I plan to share some of the shadows and valleys that I have encountered and how God has seen me through those times.  I hope that you will come back to read them and I pray that they will draw you close to your Savior or if you don’t have a relationship with Him that you will seek one out.

The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. 
Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
 I will fear no evil; for You are with me; your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. 
 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
 You anoint my head with oil; my cup runs over.
 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; 
 And I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.
                    ~Psalm 23

 

Leave a Reply

