Listening, Doing, Your Thoughts

I am often amazed at the power of the internet.  This isn’t a post about that, but it does amaze me on a pretty regular basis that I am able to surf around the net and find people that I will probably never meet in real life and learn about them and from them.  Lately I have been doing a lot of blog surfing.  I find a blog that I enjoy reading on a regular basis or maybe just that one time and then I click through a couple of the blogs they are reading or recommend.  Now, I realize that this could pose problems and I could stumble across something that I don’t want to read or see.  But I can honestly say that I have yet had that happen.  However, what has happened is that I have came across some blogs that have great insight and wisdom on them. Or they have some hilarious story about a situation that I have been in. And I have even come across some that have made me stop and rethink a position and have caused me to cry and my heart to ache for that person.  I have even came across some blogs where I do not agree with the person’s belief system, but still have found some great information on their site or some tidbit that I can take away and learn from.

All that to say that recently on one of the sites that I read on a daily basis, I came across this post and it hit me.  Because she could have been describing me or becase I could have wrote that post myself.  Here is what she had to say:

Because (and I’m confessing now) this is the truth …

I would be more willing to provide meals for someone for an entire month, than sit still and chat over a cup of coffee.

I would be more willing to paint a room or move furniture or do someone’s grocery shopping than sit still and chat over a cup of coffee.

I would be more willing to teach a Sunday school class, put together the platform flower arrangement, make a sign-up sheet … then sit still and chat over a cup of coffee.

This is something I’ve always understood about myself and like I said, it always kind of bothered me because I thought as a PW, I should be willing to sit and chat (at least over a glass of iced tea, if not coffee.)

But maybe that’s a wrong take on it. I know there are people who excel at listening, wide-eyed and totally captivated with what the other person is saying.

But maybe those people aren’t as willing to prepare food, do dishes, move furniture and teach a Sunday school class.

Paul writes that we are given gifts: We have different gifts, according to the grace given us. If a man’s gift is prophesying, let him use it in proportion to his faith.  If it is serving, let him serve; if it is teaching, let him teach; if it is encouraging, let him encourage; if it is contributing to the needs of others, let him give generously; if it is leadership, let him govern diligently; if it is showing mercy, let him do it cheerfully.

As I sat there reading her post, I just remember thinking wow is she in my brain.  But then I realized that there are probably plenty of pastors wves out there that feel the same exact way.  And although it is not a bad thing, in a lot of churches we have been made to feel like it is not enough to do.  And that we are in the wrong if we don’t sit and listen intently to every congregation member.  I agree that do need to listen and be there for our congregations, whether they are adults or teenagers.  But I also think that our congregations need to realize that we also have gifts that God has blessed us with and they aren’t going to be exactly the same as everyone else’s or even the previous pastor’s wife or maybe even the other pastor’s wives on staff.

It has taken me several years and many many learning experiences to realize that there are some gifts I have and a lot that I don’t. I know what my gifts are and I know that God has given them to me for a reason. And that reason is to bring glory to Him in everything I do.  I also have realized that for many years I tried to fill or fit into gifts I did not have or areas that God did not mean for me to be, and that was wrong. I allowed what others thought I should be doing mean more and bother me more than knowing where God wanted me and not being there.  And that was sin on my part.  I am so glad that God forgives and gives us second and third chances.  

It is so important and I know now that I have to focus on using the gifts that God has blessed me with and using them to the best of my ability to bring glory to Him.  I also know that I do need to make myself stop and take the time to listen to those who need me to listen to them. And although this is not something I am real comfoortable doing, I need to do it to the best of my ability.

So what do YOU think? I would like to know your opinions, leave me a comment.  Or if I don’t make any sense, then tell me that too!  Its ok, I won’t cry (too much!)

One thought on “Listening, Doing, Your Thoughts

  1. I read the blogs of people in my blogroll. I enjoy reading them and enjoy knowing them, realizing there are great minds ang good heart on the other side of the earth or just at the neighborhood

Leave a Reply

