josh · life · youth ministry

You are Our 2nd

The other day my husband and I were talking about his search for a new job.  It has been about 7-8 months since he resigned his position in Pennsylvania and we moved back to Missouri.  It has not been an easy time for either of us but we are handling with it.  As we talked, he told me about a phone call he had received recently from pastor of a church he had sent his resume to.  He wanted to let Josh know that the committee had currently called their top candidate and were pursuing him. The pastor had called to let Josh also know that he was their number two guy.

I was joking around with my husband and saying things like, “so you are their plan B” and “you are just the back up”. Or my favorite one was when I said jokingly “you are the boobie prize!” Of course we laughed and then discussed what it meant for us and then we went about our day.  The following day as I was in the shower preparing to leave for a weekend interview at a different church, I got to thinking and talking to God. I tend to do this best in the shower or as i am laying in bed trying to sleep.  But as I thought over the previous days conversation with Josh and then my thoughts and feelings and talked to God about it, here is what I came up with.

In the process of finding a church to minister in, no matter if Josh is told that he is their #2, #20 or #100, if he is the man that God has chosen for that church he is always #1. I am sure this can relate to a lot of situations in our lives.  We even see in the Bible that their are people that God has used that are not man’s first choice or even their second. But they are God’s man and that is what is most important.  David is a great example of this; when they are searching for the next king they look at 7 of Jesse’s sons before finally getting to David.  They can not believe that the smallest and youngest of them is the chosen King of Israel.

 I know that God has a special place for Josh and I out there, we just have to be patient enough for him to lead us to it.  And when it comes down to it, it doesn’t matter if he is their 2nd or 8th, if he is supposed to be there then he is Gods #1.

Leave a Reply

