Fun Monday- RAK

The Assignment:  (Please read the background first, so you understand my choice of assignment).

1)  Your job this week is to go out and perform a random act of kindness.  Now, before you freak out, please read on.  This is actually really easy!!  This act may be for someone you know or for a perfect stranger.  It can be big or small, it’ll all up to you.  Obviously, it should be something within your means.  For instance, don’t go out and buy your next door neighbor a car and then complain to me that you can’t make your mortgage payment, ok?

Here are a few examples of things you could do:  

  •   Give someone a ride on a cold, windy, or rainy day.  Or just give someone a ride who looks like they need it (Of course, don’t be surprised if they say no; in my experience, people are not used to kindness).
  •   Pay for the groceries for the person in front of you at the express check out lane.
  •   Donate your time to a soup kitchen, a club, a church; anywhere that provides services to the needy.
  •   Pay the toll for the person behind you.
  •   Be extra nice to that person you “really don’t like” at work.
  •   Smile at everyone you meet for a day, no matter what.
  •   Participate in a food/clothing drive. 
  •   Adopt a family over the holidays. 
  •   Participate in Toys for Tots or a similar event in your area.
  •   For the holidays, visit someone at a nursing home or hospital who otherwise would not have visitors and make them feel special and loved.
  •   Buy that homeless guy you pass every morning on your way to and from work meals for a day.
  •   Put money into those Salvation Army buckets every time you see one until the end of the year,  even if it’s only a dollar each time (The Salvation Army provides gifts for needy children over the holidays).
  •   Donate (instead of tossing) old clothes, toys, furniture, cars, etc…   to places that will provide those items to those in need for free or at minimal cost.
  •   If you can’t find any such drives, start your own.  Even if it’s only within your department (at work) or your family.  If you contact your local county government agency, they can direct you where to take donations.

* Some of these ideas are re-posted from previous posts

See?  There is so much you can do without cutting too much into your daily routine.

2)  Then, blog about what you did and why.  How did it impact the person(s) you did it for?  And better yet, how did it impact you!?  How did you feel after you did it?  Would you do it again?

Or  (I had an idea)

3)  If you’ve had a random act of kindness bestowed on you (recently), we’d love to hear about it.  How did it impact you?  How did it make you feel? 

Ok, here is mine.

I haven’t actually done this one yet, but we will be doing it on Wednesday so I thought I would list it.  Anyways, we will be going out caroling and visiting people in our town.  This is a great way to brighten someones Christmas that you might not even realize needs brightening.  We have done this in years past and most people are real receptive.  We have even had people come up to us and tell us how much it means to them and thank us.  

Something else I do during the year is I send encouragement cards to people that I know may be dealing with something in their lives.  Typically I don’t even sign my name to them; I just send them with a little note and scraipture verse.

It is hard for me to sit and actually think of something that I planned to do and write about it.  I typically don’t plan my random acts of kindness but instead I do them when i see that some one needs uplifiting or it having a hard time with something. Or if I hear that someone really wants or needs something I have the ability to get it for them, then I do. And it doesn’t have to be objects either, if I know someone needs groceries, money for a bill or gas, or something like that then I try to take care of it.  It is something that I enjoy doing for people.  And I feel that it is something that, as a follower of Christ, I am called on to do.

Leave a Reply

