Friendship

We are currently studying the book of 1 Samuel in our Sunday school class.  It is a very interesting book with lots of things that I didn’t realize before.  One thing that I guess I knew but didn’t really think much about it was the relationship between Saul, David, and Jonathan.  It is has been very enlightening and benefical to me to read about the intense friendship between David and Jonathan.  Maybe it hits hard because that is something that I have always craved and wanted.  Maybe its because that is something that I have always struggled to maintain.  Maybe it hits so hard because that is something that I thought I had found but now I am not so sure.  Or maybe it is because I did have something like that and it was lost.  I don’t know, but I do know that I want it again and I want it to be said of me.  Here is the scripture references and part of the verses.  I hope that you will take the time to read and study them for yourself.

1 Samuel 18:1-4; 1 Samuel 23:16-18; 2 Samuel 1:17-27; 2 Samuel 9:1-13

1 Samuel 23:16-18
 

16 And Saul’s son Jonathan went to David at Horesh and helped him find strength in God. 17 “Don’t be afraid,” he said. “My father Saul will not lay a hand on you. You will be king over Israel, and I will be second to you. Even my father Saul knows this.” 18 The two of them made a covenant before the LORD. Then Jonathan went home, but David remained at Horesh.

Leave a Reply

