The Hardest Thing

Standard

There are a lot of things that are hard about moving.

Physically, you have all the packing, loading, unloading and unpacking you have to do.  I am not sure how many boxes it took to pack our entire family but it was a lot.  It took 10 rolls of packing tape to seal all the boxes, that I do know.

Spiritually it is hard because you are going to a new church where you don’t really know “how” they do things.  That might sound silly (and really it kind of is) but at the same time you don’t want to make a major goof the first time you worship in your new church!  Plus it is a new environment and I know for me that makes it hard because I tend to take a bit to feel comfortable.  I know that has nothing to do with my new church family and is all on me and I am working on it.

I think however that moving is the hardest emotionally!  At least for me anyways.  And I will freely admit that at one time in my life this wouldn’t have been true.  I am not trying to brag on myself but in the past 4 years or so, I have really grown and come a long way in the personal relationship department!  For several years I was a loner and not a people person.  And really i still prefer to be alone and am not really a people person.  But God has really shown me how the walls I built around myself to protect my heart from being hurt were not only keeping people locked out but were keeping me locked in!  Wow!  I never really thought about it that way before.  And while it may still be easier to retreat within, I know that that is not what the Lord would have me to do.

So the hardest part of this entire move has been saying good-bye or see you later to those I have grown close to.  Not just for the fact that I am leaving but also in the fact that while I am very emotional person it was hard to show that emotion.  And that doesn’t happen to me very often.  So this past weekend, I had to hug and say good-bye to people I have only known for barely over 18 months but feel they have been in my life forever!  Some of them were no-nonsense ladies who told you like it was.  Some of them were ladies that always said hi and genuinely asked how you were doing.  Some of them were ladies that were quiet and kind of reserved and others were outgoing and loud!  And some of them always had a word of encouragement or were willing to do you a favor anytime.  And although they were all so different in their personalities, backgrounds, and experiences there were two things they all had in common~ they all loved Jesus with their whole beings and they loved others (and it showed)!  I am so thankful that I had the privilege to be loved by them and to love them all!

So the hardest thing about this move was not telling our kids, our family or our church family.  It wasn’t packing my entire house, loading the u-haul, unloading the u-haul or unpacking the contents of my old home into my new house (still working on that one!).  Nope, none of that was as hard as leaving behind the relationships that I (and my family) have built in the last 18 months.  It was leaving behind all the people who helped us to settle in and really consider Marion, Il our home in the short time we had been there.

And while we are looking forward to the new relationships and friendships that God has in store for us at our new church in Washington, Il, I will miss those we left behind!

About Tzigane

Wife to 1 husband for almost 17 years Mom to 3 kids; daughter (13 1/2 years) son (5 years) and son (18 months) Follower of Jesus Christ Pastor's Wife Lover of: photography, books, digital scrapping, jewelry design, decorating, cooking, saving money, animals, rural living and city life, vanilla ice cream, milky way bars, dr pepper, sweet sweet tea, mexican food, Outback, flip flops (even in winter), comfortable clothes,

One response »

  1. Moving can be so hard. But God always has a plan. Thanks so much for linking up with Woman to Woman. Please join us each Wednesday!

    Jenifer

Leave a Reply

